Warning Signs Of Gluten Allergy-Composite of proteins present in wheat and its related products which includes barley, rye, oats and all their breeds and cross breeds like spelt, kamut & triticale is known as Gluten. Gluten has the properties of giving flexibility, shape and chewy nature to dough. Gluten has stored proteins known as Prolamins.
Gluten Related Allergies
Traditionally the wheat produced by Indian farmers was indigenous which was low in gluten and so our grandparents used to digest it easily. Nowadays as population and technology is increasing so farmers have started using English variety for sowing crops as they yield higher but they are high in Gluten resulting flaws in digestive system.
This has given rise to Gluten-related allergies. 40% of people in India are allergic to Gluten. Sometimes the symptoms of allergies from Gluten are mild and we therefore ignore.
Some serious symptoms of Gluten Allergies are:
- Rashes on skin
- Loose motions
Celiac disease is the result of Gluten intolerance. When Gluten is consumed by the person having Celiac disease then it can prompt the immune response that can damage the intestines and prevent them from absorbing other important nutrients.
What to avoid?
- Wheat and varieties of wheat including wheat biscuits(wheat starch, wheat bran, wheat germ)
Also avoid foods like pastas, noodles, baked food, pastries, cereals, beer and malt beverages and anything that contains wheat flour as an ingredient.
What to Substitute?
- Fruits & Vegetables
- Beans & seeds
- Dairy products
- Flax Seeds
Gluten-free grains are also there as a substitute of wheat and related grains:
- Gluten-free oats
Don’t get discouraged, as to go gluten free is not that difficult. As there are numerous options available.
Can’t give up your favorite pasta and baked food items?? You can for the gluten free bread, pasta, crackers and cereals. Alternative flours can be used for baking millet, rice & corn flour and add guar gum in place of gluten.
Can also go for dosa, idly, pongal & appam. For desserts you can opt for ice-creams and kulfi. So you don’t have to give up chapattis. Just eat chapatti made up of healthy versions of gluten free grains present in India like besan roti, jowar, bajra & ragi.
While eating out you need to be extra cautious as different sauces and fried foods may contain gluten. So while eating out you can always opt for grilled meat and steamed vegetables.
While purchasing processed or pre-prepared food always read labels carefully as certain grains are adulterated with wheat during processing. So look for “Gluten- Free” label on food items.