Monuments of Agra


Agra’s history is largely recognised with Mughal Kingdom, but the place was established much before it and has linkages since Mahabharat period and Mahirshi Angira in 1000 BC. It is generally accepted that Sultan Sikandar Lodi, the Ruler of the Delhi Sultanate founded Agra in the year 1504. After the Sultan’s death the city passed on to his son Sultan Ibrahim Lodi. He ruled his Sultanate from Agra until he fell fighting to Babar in the First battle of Panipat fought in 1526.

In the year 1556, the great Hindu warrior Hemu Vikramaditya, also known as Samrat Hem Chander Vikramaditya, won Agra as the Prime Minister cum Chief of Army of Adil Shah of the Afghan Suri Dynasty. The commander of Humayun / Akbar’s forces in Agra, Tardi Beg Khan, was so scared of Hemu that he retreated from the city without a fight. This was Hemu’s 21st continuous win since 1554, and he later went on to conquer Delhi, having his coronation at Purana Qil’a in Delhi on 7 October 1556 and re-established the Hindu Kingdom and the Vikramaditya Dynasty in North India.

The golden age of the city began with the Mughals. It was known then as Akbarabad and remained the capital of the Mughal Empire under the Emperors Akbar, Jahangir and Shah Jahan. Shah Jahan later shifted his capital to Shahjahanabad in the year 1649.

Since Akbarabad was one of the most important cities in India under the Mughals, it witnessed a lot of building activity. Babar, the founder of the Mughal dynasty, laid out the first formal Persian garden on the banks of river Yamuna. The garden is called the Aram Bagh or the Garden of Relaxation. His grandson Akbar raised the towering ramparts of the Great Red Fort, besides making Agra a center for learning, arts, commerce and religion. Akbar also built a new city on the outskirts of Akbarabad called Fatehpur Sikri. This city was built in the form of a Mughal military camp in stone.

His son Jahangir had a love of gardens and flora and fauna and laid many gardens inside the Red Fort or Lal Qil’a. Shah Jahan, known for his keen interest in architecture, gave Akbarabad its most prized monument, the Taj Mahal. Built in loving memory of his wife Mumtaz Mahal, the mausoleum was completed in 1653.

Shah Jahan later shifted the capital to Delhi during his reign, but his son Aurangzeb moved the capital back to Akbarabad, usurping his father and imprisoning him in the Fort there. Akbarabad remained the capital of India during the rule of Aurangzeb until he shifted it to Aurangabad in the Deccan in 1653. After the decline of the Mughal Empire, the city came under the influence of Marathas and Jats and was called Agra, before falling into the hands of the British Raj in 1803.

In 1835 when the Presidency of Agra was established by the British, the city became the seat of government, and just two year later it was the witness to the Agra famine of 1837 – 38. During the Indian rebellion of 1857 British rule across India was threatened, news of the rebellion had reached Agra on 11 May and on 30 May two companies of native infantry, the 44th and 67th regiments, rebelled and marched to Delhi. The next morning native Indian troops in Agra were forced to disarm, on 15 June Gwalior (which lies south of Agra) rebelled. By 3 July the British were forced to withdraw into the fort. Two days later a small British force at Sucheta were defeated and forced to withdraw, this led to a mob sacking the city. However, the rebels moved onto Delhi which allowed the British to restore order by 8 July. Delhi fell to the British in September, the following month rebels who had fled Delhi along with rebels from Central India marched on Agra – but were defeated. After this British rule was again secured over the city until the independence of India in 1947.

Agra is the birth place of the religion known as Din-i Ilahi, which flourished during the reign of Akbar and also of the Radhaswami Faith, which has around two million followers worldwide. Agra has historic linkages with Shauripur of Jainism and Runukta of Hinduism, of 1000 BC.

Place to visit in Agra:

  • Agra Fort
  • Akbar’s Tomb, Sikandra
  • Barah Khamba, Tajganj
  • Battis Khamba
  • Chauburzi (Near Yamuna Bridge Rly. Station)
  • Chinga-Modi Pul
  • Chini Ka Rauzah + Kala Gumbad
  • Commissionery
  • Dakhnai Gate-Tajganj
  • Delhi Gate
  • Dhakri Ka Mahal
  • Etmad-ud-Daulah
  • Gummat Takht Pahalwan
  • Gurudwara Guru Ka Taal
  • Gyareh Sidi
  • Hathi Ghat
  • Hessing’s Tomb (Graveyard)
  • Humayun’s Mosque (Kachpura)
  • Jaswant Singh Ki Chatri-Balkeshwar
  • JhunJhun Ka Katora (Civil Court’s Compound)
  • Kaanch Mahal (on the south-east corner of Akbar’s Tomb)
  • Kans Gate-Gokulpura
  • Katra Jogidass Gate, Tajganj
  • Katra Phulel, Tajganj
  • Katra Resham, Tajganj
  • Katra Umar Khan
  • Mariyum Zamani’s Tomb
  • Mehtab Bagh
  • Narain Bhawan (Old Chandiwali Kothi)
  • Nazir Ki Mazaar
  • Nurjahan Ki Sarai
  • Panjey wali Masjid-Tajganj
  • Patthar Ka Goda & Kafur’s Mosque, Opp. Guru Ka Taal
  • Ram Bagh
  • Sadar Tehsil, Agra
  • Saheli Burz
  • Salawat Khan’s Tomb
  • Sat Kuian
  • Shahi Laal Masjid
  • Sikandar Lodhi’s Tomb-Beside Akbar’s Tomb
  • Small Mosque situated in Church Missionery Society Compound (Near Mariyum Tomb-Sikandra)
  • Taj Heritage Corridor
  • Tomb of Firoz Khan Khwajasara
  • Unprotected Monuments
  • Zohra Bagh